January 2023

January has been a fantastic month so far (aside from a few painfully cold days). I went skiing several times, as well as skating and playing pickup hockey at the park by my house. I tried a few new restaurants including a fantastic Thai restaurant just a few blocks away. I caught up with a few old friends and found time to cook and spend time with friends and family. My roommates and I competed against my girlfriend and her roommates in a hard fought Wii Sports tournament, however, we did end up losing (rematch coming soon). I also ran a marathon with my uncle and I had an awesome weekend in Phoenix with him for the race (we also went on a 12 mile hike up a mountain the day after, which was arguably more difficult than the marathon itself). I have lots of trips planned for this spring which I’m really excited about including a camping trip in February, potentially a backpacking trip in Guatemala over spring break, potentially a road trip to Nebraska for an Engineers Without Borders conference in April, a trip to go see Hippo Campus at the Red Rocks in May with my sister and a trip to visit my roommate in Brasil after finals. This semester is off to a pretty strong start, I have 3 electrical engineering courses (one which is a design project and seems super interesting so far) and 2 sustainability courses which I find provides a good balance of courses and work load. I’m looking forward to what the next few months will hold (hopefully some warmer weather) and I’m loving life. See you February.

Published by alexanderhawki

I am a member of the University of Minnesota class of 2024 and I am currently studying Mechanical Engineering.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started